you're reading...
gvsig mobile, openmis, openmoko, wonthurt

Just a test on this funny Fedora netbook

The OLPC XO Fedora laptop has fallen into my hands by chance for a few days and I have obviously tested Unofficial gvSIG Mobile for Openmoko on it. The latest swt.jar for Linux x86 devices looks really nice on it. Background is a tiled (client side) Japanese ArcIMS service:

The Open Mobile IS synchro engine doing its job:

And the WMS client confirming the remote update of the PostGIS table (server is at home, these pics were shot at the office):

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Just a test on this funny Fedora netbook

  1. Dear Juan,

    May I ask if you think this would also run on a Smartq v7 or v5 II using Ubuntu? I’m thinking of buying one of these for mapping plants in a historic collection.

    Also, is there an easy way to work with a non-networked .shp point file, for example, transferred to a desktop via an SD card?

    Many thanks,

    Sorbus

    Posted by Sorbus | 21/12/2010, 2:22 AM
    • Hello, Sorbus. Thanks for the comment. I understand that Smartq v7/v5 II refers solely to your hardware:

      http://en.smartdevices.com.cn/Products/V7/200912/04-40.html

      Which operating system are they running? Android, Linux, Windows CE 6.0? How flexible are you about the operating system? (I mean , are you ready to install the one that supports the application of your interest? perhaps you can even have more than one O.S. and switch each time you reset the device?)

      I understand you are planning to use a GPS to acquire the coordinates? The specs of the Smartq do not talk about GPS, I think. Are you using external GPS device and bluetooth to connect them?

      Regards,
      Juan

      Posted by Juan Lucas Domínguez Rubio | 21/12/2010, 12:49 PM
  2. Hello Juan,

    They run a recent version of Ubuntu (9.10 I think), with which GPSD supposedly works. I’ve a wired GPS that I’d like to try with it. I think that would be easier for myself to set up than Android, as I have no experience with it. I’m not too fussed with Win CE either, it’s just that the SmartQ V7 is a decent hand-held size with stylus (almost the same dimensions as an Apple Newton 2100.)

    A GPS isn’t absolutely essential as I’ve already got a good, geo-referenced base map (vector and/or raster), so it would be just for field capture of point data – trees, shrubs etc. I would be a bonus if GPS worked however.

    One of the worries I have is that I’d have to go beyond simple .shp files to some kind of database set-up. Again, I think that’s outside of my knowledge right now. I’d just like to be able to upload data via simple methods.

    Thanks for your advice and best wishes,

    Sorbus

    Posted by Sorbus | 21/12/2010, 7:17 PM
    • Hello, Sorbus. Do your devices let you choose the operating sysm when you start them, as in this image http://bit.ly/g5Q5TD ?

      If so, I think you have several options:

      – Using Windows CE 6.0 + Official gvSIG Mobile on your device. I recently tested a device which I think is very similar to yours:

      With that, you should be able to easily edit your shapefiles (with or without GPS) and take them back to the office. I can send you that application immediately.

      – If, for some reason, that doesn’t work, we can try the Unofficial gvSIG Mobile for Linux from this blog, which has less features, but probably would still fit your needs. This option would require some tests.

      – If you are only interested in surveying points, you might also use other applications which store POIs using for example the GPX format, possibly with custom attributes, like the ones used by the OpenStreetMap mappers, and then those GPX files can be converted to SHP.

      Some questions:

      Which formats are you using? SHP for vector files (points, lines, etc)? Which format are you using for raster files? ECW? TIF? Which coordinate system are you using? EPSG:4326 and EPSG:27700, I presume, from the “…uk” in your email?

      Regards,
      Juan

      Posted by Juan Lucas Domínguez Rubio | 22/12/2010, 11:12 PM
  3. Hello Juan,

    The device does triple boot, as you’ve shown. I would be using shp point files for the plants, and could use a line or polygon shp file for the background map. As I don’t know how well the machine will cope with rendering the background map, I was planning to simplify it or use a low res raster file. I haven’t thought of the best format yet. The same with the coordinate system as I’ve used GB OS based upon the data I’ve inherited for the project.

    I’ve tried out your software on a virtualbox Ubuntu install and I’m impressed at how easy it is to set up with GPSD for basic poi capture. Initially, I hadn’t seen the official version of gv sig as the project doesn’t have as good a presence on the web as yours! I’d be happy to try it out too – thank you.

    Do you know if they’re planning to port the official version to Linux? Something part way between both your projects would be great.

    I have used simple GPS waypoints for OSM and botanical field work, but I’m aiming for a more polished (and preferably open source) this time.

    Cheers,

    Sorbus

    Posted by Sorbus | 23/12/2010, 2:20 AM

Leave a Reply

